“Create a life you need no escape from.” I read this quote today from one of my Twitter followers and it got me thinking about life.

How many times have we all thought we need a vacation, that we need to get away from the hectic craziness of our every day lives? I know I have, many times, and I’m sure many of you have too.

Whether we admit it or not, life can be stressful, it can be challenging and frustrating, but it’s how we deal with this stress that determines how we lead our lives. It’s not easy, nothing in life is. From working, taking the kids to taekwondo, helping them with homework, making dinner, taking care of household duties, getting the kids ready for school the next day, family commitments, dentist and doctor appointments, and we can’t forget about the dog who also needs my attention – life at times seems like a whirlwind. When do I get a chance to relax, or take a moment to just enjoy my coffee without worrying about what I’m making for dinner, or making sure that I’m not late to pick up the kids from school, or making sure my batteries are charged and the camera is ready to go for my next event?

Sometimes taking a step back to look at things, to contemplate where we go from here works. Other times, it doesn’t and we just can’t see things as clearly as we would like to. Everyone deals with the road bumps in their life differently, we all cope in our own way. And it’s easy to get lost in it all.

Going away, taking a break from it all can be great. It gives us a chance to unwind, to unravel, to relax, to clear our minds, to recharge our own battery, a chance to step away from that cloud that’s hanging over our heads preventing us from doing what we want to do, from accomplishing what we have set out to accomplish. Eventually, we have to face our worries, our stresses, whatever it is we are running away from, whatever it is that’s bogging us down.

At times these escapes can help, and at others not so much. Just because we are leaving our troubles behind, doesn’t mean they will just disappear. Eventually, we have to face them and try to figure something out.

Shutting our eyes, ignoring the problem, or just throwing it on the back burner isn’t going to help things get better. If we want to enjoy life, one we don’t have to escape from, we need to face it head on. The first step is admitting to ourselves that there’s something we need to change in our lives, believe it or not that is the toughest part for many of us.

I’ve always been a very positive and optimistic person. Though that’s not to say I haven’t been stressed or down in the dumps at one time in my life or another. My problem is that I like doing everything myself, and though I have no problem asking for help when I need it, sometimes I take on more than I can handle. That’s when I get stressed out that something is going to go wrong, or something is going to be forgotten or not get done because there’s only one of me and so much to do.

Thankfully for me, I have a wonderful husband who’s there when I need him to lend a hand. He helps balance things out, comforts me when I need it, or just listens when I need a shoulder to lean on and vent about all my stresses and worries. I’d like to think that everyone has someone in their lives they can turn to when they’ve just had enough of life and need to let it all out over a few beers or a few glasses of wine and a platter of fine cheese.

Life is what you make of it. And if there is one thing I’ve learned, it’s that life is very fragile and too short. We really don’t know how long we have, so we need to try to smell the roses a little longer, let that kiss linger a moment more, relish in those laughs with your friends, hold onto our kids while we read them that bedtime story and take in every second. Like the quote I started this blog post with said, it’s about creating a life you don’t feel the need to escape from. That’s what I’m doing with my life.

Things can get hectic and busy, I know. There is always so much going on, but we have to make the time for those things that really matter because it’s too easy to lose track of time that you may never get back. Keep in mind that without you being happy with who you are, with your life, with what you’re doing and with your world, you can’t move forward.

If you’re unhappy with your life, or feel you need a change, don’t let anything stand in your way. Don’t be afraid to make a change, however significant or insignificant you may think it is. There’s nothing wrong with taking a well-deserved break, so long as you’re not running or hiding from your everyday life. Take your life into your own hands and be the best you can be, never give up and make your life one you don’t need to escape from.

What challenges have you been faced with in your lives that you wished you could change or escape from? How do you cope with these everyday stresses?

