When I started putting this website together, the idea was for it to be a mommy and me blog, a place for me to unwind about everyday life and my adventures of being a mom and how to balance this new part of my personal life with my career. Needless to say, I barely got it off the ground.

Life somehow just has a way of getting away from you, time slips by in the blink of an eye, and before you know it, you’re wondering where the years have gone by. Sometimes, it’s hard to believe how far I’ve come and how much I have accomplished in the past decade. And with my oldest son’s birthday a few short weeks away, it reminds me how extremely excited I was when my husband and I found out we were expecting for the first time.

I’ve always loved kids, so to have a child of my own to love, to keep safe, to help mould into a kind and caring human being was a joy I couldn’t contain. Almost 9 years later, I couldn’t be more proud of how much he has grown, how much he has learned, how big his heart is and how much he continues to exceed in everything he sets out to do. My little peanut has grown too quick.

My almost 7-year-old is the other love of my life. He’s always smiling, joking around, having fun – simply enjoying life every moment he can. He too has a big heart, is very smart, and has grown into such an adorable little person. Sometimes, they are both too smart for their own good, but to see how they have each grown into their own distinct individual personalities is incredible.

Sure there are times when they are at each other’s throats driving me nuts and all I want to do is close my bedroom door, climb under the blankets and just be alone, but what mom or parent doesn’t ever get frustrated and have those days? No one is perfect, and we all have our bad days.

But when I’m down or stressed and my babies come and give me a big bear hug, it just makes me realize how much I adore my kids. They are my life. Everything I do is for them.

So backtracking a bit, I have definitely been all over the place with my career, always on the go. From being a full-time journalist to being laid off and trying to get back on my feet doing something in my crazy unpredictable field, it’s been a whirlwind of a decade.

Though I’m not writing for any outlets anymore, I have stayed in touch with all of my pr contacts who have helped me grow my website to what it has become today. Which is why I never really had time for my blog. That and I’ve been growing my photography business, something I really love to do, and have always done since I was a child. But I’m not complaining. It’s nice to have built something of my own, with my own followers, my own stories, my own work, and at the end of the day, I can say I did that. Me.

I never have any regrets in life, I learn from my mistakes and move on, bettering myself every time. I have learned so much from so many wonderful inspiring people, and I use that knowledge to hone in on my skills, to improve them, to develop myself as an artist of words and pictures, to make this unique person stand out, someone I can be proud of.

It hasn’t been easy trying to get my career on track and balancing my family life, but somehow I have managed to do it. Of course, I think I’m extremely lucky to have such a wonderful husband who supports me in everything I do, and does what he does so that I can have the freedom to do what I do. The world of photography is extremely competitive, but one I’m enjoying being a part of. One minute I’m photographing runway shows and capturing candid moments backstage at Toronto World MasterCard Fashion Week, and the next minute I’m editing a premiere for a well-respected photographer I have come to respect very much. He’s become one of my mentors, someone from whom I have also learned so much from.

I have been lucky to have many great teachers in my life, one of my biggest fans and mentors was when I started my career in journalism. She pushed me to be the best I can, to never let anyone put me down, to never take crap from anyone, and to keep pushing until I get to the top. She also reminded me that because I am a woman, especially a working mom, that things will be that much more challenging, but with perseverance and confidence, I could do anything I set my mind to. And that’s what I have done. I have strived to be the best I can in everything I do, whether it’s being the best daughter, sister, friend, wife, mother, journalist, photographer – there isn’t anything I haven’t given my whole heart to, nothing I can say I’m not proud of doing.

As a mom with a career I love, one that is very fast-paced, and two boys who keep me on my toes every minute of every day, this mommy is always on the go.

Signing off for now, talk to you soon.

XOXO

Sandy 😉

