I have a new dream car – the 2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX. And I’d like it in grey too please, fixed up with all the trimmings and cool extras! And we can’t forget the gorgeous rims either.

2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX. Photo by Sandy Caetano.
2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX. Photo by Sandy Caetano.

My first dream car was the 2013 Honda Pilot, and always will be, I absolutely love this SUV. But I have also fallen in love with the Honda Civic Coupe EX. This sporty little thing is going to get me into trouble with all its cool gadgets and the power under the hood.

First things first, the fuel consumption for this Civic is absolutely amazing. The model I test drove – an automatic and not the manual transmission Honda also offers this vehicle in – included the new CVT transmission, which Honda says is lighter, has a 22% wider ratio spread and has less friction. With this new transmission the result is an improvement of 0.4 litres per 100 kilometres in the city, meaning more savings on fuel. And with gas prices going up and down, this is a major selling feature for the 2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX.

For people such as myself who do a lot of day-to-day city driving and want to save fuel, the Civic Coupe EX is perfect. From taking my kids to school, running errands and going to meet clients out of the city, I barely used half a tank of gas in the week I test drove this bad boy, where as compared to other vehicles, I would have used up at least three-quarters of the tank if not more.

Cruising around town in the 2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX. Photo by Sandy Caetano.
Cruising around town in the 2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX. Photo by Sandy Caetano.

This small two-door vehicle was a comfortable drive, and especially great on the highway, where it very quickly climbed to 100km/hr without any hesitation. Before I realized it, I had hit 120 clicks and had to slow down before I was pulled over.

Many reviewers say they are not crazy about the way the Civic Coupe EX handles, saying rivals offer more power and refined ride and handling, but I disagree. This Civic drives amazingly well, hugs corners very nicely, is very powerful and has a quick response time. When you’re behind the wheel of the 2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX you truly feel like you’re one with the vehicle.

One of the new gadgets added to the Civic Coupe EX is Honda’s LaneWatch, a camera in the passenger-side mirror that provides an image on the Display Audio screen of what you would see if you physically turned around to check your blind-spot over your right shoulder. It was pretty cool feature, even though I’m used to checking with my own eyes.

2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX. Photo by Sandy Caetano.
2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX. Photo by Sandy Caetano.

Other cool luxury features include heated front seats, a rear backup camera and HondaLink, which allows you to connect your smartphone with the car, and if your smartphone is an iPhone 5 or newer, you can have access to Siri too.

I really enjoyed driving this Civic Coupe EX, more so than many other vehicles I’ve had the chance to test-drive. It was fun to drive, reliable, safe and just an amazing experience. I was never crazy about Civics, but that was until I got behind the wheel of this two-door small luxury vehicle. What an amazing machine.

The 2014 Honda Civic Coupe EX starts at $20,955, but the model I drove with the CVT transmission starts at $22,255. For more information visit honda.ca/civic_coupe.

