Juke be nimble, Juke be quick – the Juke Nismo is bound to be a hit. The 2013 Nissan Juke Nismo AWD is quite the odd-looking car. Quite frankly, when I first saw it on the road I thought it was the most hideous vehicle I had ever laid my eyes on. But, my husband fell in love with it right away, probably because it was different, and was as anxious as a kid on christmas morning to give it a whirl.

2013 Nissan Juke Nismo. Photo by Sandy Caetano.
2013 Nissan Juke Nismo. Photo by Sandy Caetano.

So when I was offered to test drive this little rocky show of horrors, I of course said yes. On first appearances, there is nothing that’s middle ground about this vehicle. You either like it or you don’t. It’s one of those “look at me, look at me,” kind of vehicles. It doesn’t really matter what you think about it when you first take a glance, because regardless of what you think of the Juke Nismo, it catches your eye and makes you want to look at it.

Nissan seems to be pioneering the compact SUV market, paving the way for a whole new vehicle segment with this crossover. It’s like a Frankenstein mish-mash creation, taking components from several different vehicles and piecing it together to make something new and fresh.

2013 Nissan Juke Nismo. Photo by Sandy Caetano.
2013 Nissan Juke Nismo. Photo by Sandy Caetano.

With a base price of $23, 780, the Juke Nismo has the benefits of being compact in terms of manoeuvrability giving the driver ease of parking and the ease of getting around the city. The model I test drove was priced at $24,998. It also has the perks of a SUV with its ruggedness and being able to tackle snow days and patches of gravel you may encounter – you feel more stable and secure while behind the wheel of the Juke Nismo. Lastly, it has the pick up and go of a small sports car, so really, what more could you want?

Like trying anything new, you really have to give it a chance. It’s like trying a fine wine for the first time, or anything for that matter, until you give it a go you’ll never know. You may hate it, but there is a chance you may enjoy it as well. It was like that for me and this little Frankenstein creation, once I gave it a shot and got behind the wheel was when the Juke Nismo really started to grow on me – looks and all.

2013 Nissan Juke Nismo. Photo by Sandy Caetano.
2013 Nissan Juke Nismo. Photo by Sandy Caetano.

My boys love every new car we get to test drive, for them it’s a new adventure. For myself, I was impressed with how it handled on the road, driving in the city it hugged the corners like no other car I had driven and on the highway this little guy had a lot of pep and just flew in and out of traffic. The hubby loved the Juke too, and hasn’t stopped researching it since we brought it back.

The interior of the 2013 Nissan Juke Nismo is very sporty, grey and black with red accents with comfortable fabric seating, the steering wheel is half suede and half leather with a red mark on the top centre and the controls were all nicely placed and easy to access. The back row seating was a bit tight for my liking, and though the front driver’s seat and passenger’s seat were very comfortable, it was a bit of a challenge to get in and out like a sports car.

2013 Nissan Juke Nismo. Photo by Sandy Caetano.
2013 Nissan Juke Nismo. Photo by Sandy Caetano.

Under the hood the Juke Nismo sports a 1.6L DOHC turbocharged four-cylinder engine, with 197 hp at 6,000r pm and 184 lb-ft of torque at 2,000 rpm.

There’s no denying the look of the car is crazy insanity as there’s so much going on with the bulbous headlights, slits, intakes and fog lights, and the back-end is just as nuts. Yet, the more I looked at the more I loved it, maybe because it’s different than anything that’s currently on the road. The paint job was nice, a white body with black and red accents, including the side-mirrors that were red.

For more information about this mad creation visit www.nissan.ca.

