When looking for a new vehicle, what’s the most important feature for you? In my case, its storage and reliability. With two growing boys, I need a vehicle that gives me lots of space to carry groceries or to store things for trips to the beach or picnics in the park. I’m a photographer as well, so I need room to carry my gear when I’m shooting events. City driving is what I do most, so a reliable vehicle that can withstand the constant stop and go is essential.

Photo by Sandy Caetano
2013 Nissan Sentra SR. Photo by Sandy Caetano

This summer I had the pleasure of test driving the 2013 Nissan Sentra SR. It’s a great small/medium-sized sedan with lots of space, comfortable and very easy to handle on the road. I like it because it’s not too small but feels like you’re in a larger more mature vehicle.

On the outside, the Sentra SR has a very chic and upscale look, with nice curves and flowing lines that take your eye from the front to the back very nicely – it’s very sexy for a four door car. The model I test drove had fog lights, lower side sills, 17-inch wheels and a rear spoiler.

On the inside, you definitely don’t feel like you’re in a small car. The controls were all nicely arranged and was very easy to get use to, the cabin and second row seating are spacious, and well-laid out, with lots of leg room and headroom.

2015 Nissan Sentra SR. Photo by Sandy Caetano
2013 Nissan Sentra SR. Photo by Sandy Caetano

The Nissan Sentra SR also has one of the biggest trunks I’ve seen for vehicles in its class size, and you can get even more space by folding the second row seats forward, though it doesn’t remain completely flat. The seating itself is quite flat and not as plush or comfortable as in other vehicles I have test-driven, but it’s not a car I would take for long road trips either, more just for every day city driving.

2015 Nissan Sentra SR. Photo by Sandy Caetano
2013 Nissan Sentra SR. Photo by Sandy Caetano

For myself, a small car for everyday city driving such as this is perfect and it’s gas mileage is great. It’s not as zippy as the Honda Fit or the Mazda 3, but it’s reliable. Under the hood the Nissan Sentra is equipped with a 1.8-liter inline-4 cylinder engine with 130 hp at 6,000 rpm.

My boys definitely had fun sitting in the back while we visited family and went on day trips, and there was lots of space for them to have their backpacks and toys out to play while we drove. The base cloth seats are great with kids as its easier to clean and I don’t have to worry about the leather getting ruined or ripped because of their booster seats.

Overall, the Nissan Sentra SR was a great car to drive, one we quite enjoyed. It seems to be on par with other models in its level, with a base starting price of $19,650, which is pretty affordable and well worth its value. However if you prefer the sportier look you can opt for that package for an additional cost which includes a rear spoiler and low-rolling-resistance tires, as well as a few other aerodynamic improvements. There are tons of options to choose from, it all depends on your preference.

2015 Nissan Sentra SR. Photo by Sandy Caetano
2013 Nissan Sentra SR. Photo by Sandy Caetano

For more information about the 2013 Nissan Sentra SR or any of the other vehicles in the Nissan fleet please visit www.nissan.ca.

