There’s no denying how appealing and easy-on-the-eyes the 2012 Acura MDX is at first sight. It’s at the top of its game, right up there next to all its luxury vehicle competitors.

2012 Acura MDX SH-AWD. Photography by Caetano Productions.
2012 Acura MDX SH-AWD. Photography by Caetano Productions.

I never cared much what I was driving, what was under the hood or even what it looked like, so long as it took me safely from point A to point B. Today, with each vehicle I test drive, I’m learning more and more about cars, what they have to offer, what I like and don’t like, what works for me and what doesn’t.

Everything about the MDX definitely works for me. This fully loaded SUV is comfortable, impressively safe and accelerates pretty quickly for such a big vehicle. With 300-horsepower, performance is one of its strongest features. This seven-passenger, three-row SUV is one I would highly recommend to anyone who’s budget is comfortable enough to get them a ride home in this bad boy.

photo 2When I got the keys, the first thing I did was open the trunk, and that’s when I noticed its third row of seating, something my boys were super thrilled to see. My kids were so eager they climbed in the trunk to test it out. I don’t know who was more excited, them or me. Once they were buckled in, headsets on and watching their movie on the DVD player, we were on our way home to pack for our road trip to Niagara Falls. A vehicle like this just calls for the open road.

The MDX handles amazing well with its SH-AWD (super handling all-wheel-drive) system. It goes when it needs to and stops when it has to. The traction was also remarkable for it being a larger vehicle. It wasn’t sluggish, it didn’t hesitate, it even handled perfectly getting in and out of traffic on the highway.

photo 03With its leather interior, comfort is another plus for the MDX. Not only were the pilot seats a dream for the long ride to the Falls, but they, along with the second-row seating, had a heated and cooling system. The second-row seats also tilts and slides forward, great for kids who fall asleep during car rides. My boys were definitely napping with comfort and style on their side.

The ride to Niagara Falls was quick, especially considering we didn’t make a pit-stop along the way as we usually do. But with the boys asleep, we figured it best to keep going. Once we arrived and stepped out to stretch our legs, we didn’t feel like we had been in the car for over two hours (traffic was horrendous as it was a Friday afternoon).

The third-row seats were small, but perfect for kids. Storage was also amazing with cubbies, cup holders and storage bins all over the place. The rear cargo was quite spacious too, with lots of room for kids backpacks and overnight bags or luggage for those who love road trips like we do.

photo 004Thus far though, my favourite is still the Honda Pilot. It was luxurious where it needed to be, rugged, and in my opinion perfect for me and my family – especially when we go camping. Though I can’t wait to see what the 2013 Acura MDX will have to offer and how it will differ from the 2012 model. Until then, we’re off to test the Honda Fit next!

