After test driving the 2012 Honda Civic Si HFP Coupe back in May, I figured I was ready to take the sporty vehicle out on the road on my own. I was so excited to get a whole week with the little sporty car.

When I first got behind the wheel, I’m not ashamed to admit that I stalled the car almost immediately. Ok, so it was right away. Remember, it has been four months since I originally got my lessons on driving a manual transmission from Honda. But, I didn’t panic. I sat there and tried to remember what my instructor told me, and in no time I had the car running and drove it around the parking lot a few times.

The ride home wasn’t too bad, though I absolutely refused to take it out on the highway as my confidence with the vehicle and my ability to drive it that fast was not very high. Driving alone in the vehicle, I was ok, though I did stall it a few times, but managed to get home in one piece and without ruining the car.

The next day was the big test for me – taking my boys to school. Having a destination wasn’t the problem, it was getting there on time that was worrying me. My kids were so eager to get into the Civic, the super fast car, as they called it. Having them giggling and laughing in the back normally wouldn’t bother me, however that morning every little thing, every sound, everything was annoying me.

I was so frustrated with all the things I had to do to get the car going, that I couldn’t focus on what I was supposed to be doing. I stalled at the red lights, stalled turning the corners, I stalled trying to switch gears. I even had to stop on a hill and wait for all the traffic behind me to go around, just so I could get the car going again because I was so afraid of rolling back and hitting another vehicle.

On top of that, because the car is so small and the clutch is so deep, my seat had to be so close to the steering wheel, which made me even more uncomfortable.

To make matters worse, like I wasn’t already nervous enough, while stalled at one of the many stop signs on the way to take my boys to school, I noticed a police cruiser sitting behind me. All that was going through my mind was, “Please don’t come and talk to me, please don’t come and ask me if I’m ok.” I was ready to explain that I was test driving it, and obviously not very good at it. That or I would burst into tears. Instead they patiently waited for me to get the car running, though I swear they were laughing and shaking their heads at me.

I realized very quickly that driving stick is definitely not for me. I was so embarrassed with having cars honking at me and stalling at every set of lights or stop sign, I so did not want to get back behind the wheel. Talk about a disaster.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great car, if you know how to drive it. The Honda Civic Si is powerful, fast, hugs the corners and is an overall amazing drive – once you get over the fear of rolling back. It handles extremely well. With a little more practice, patience and no kids in the back squealing whenever the car jerked, I got a little more comfortable with driving it.

It’s a gorgeous looking car, very sleek and sporty, the kind of car that makes heads turn. The sound of the engine alone is enough to give you rush. The interior was black and grey with red detailing on the steering wheel and seats. The cargo space was surprisingly very good and quite spacious.

For anyone who knows how to drive stick, or rather enjoys it, this is definitely a car you want to test out. Once I got it going, and I did, I could have gotten into some serious trouble with my need for speed. This little guy just flies when you get it going.

If there’s one thing I really did enjoy about the 2012 Honda Civic Si HFP Coupe, was that you really become one with the car. You become more aware of your surroundings and what the car is doing or has to do in order to go. That’s the beauty of driving standard, it becomes a real driving experience.

