Billie Holiday and her “diva” toddler.

What’s your secret to keeping the balance between your career and the rest of your life? 

I’m a single mom, I don’t think there’s really any secret. I just think as long as your child or children are happy and you are able to reach and obtain your career goals, then you are a kick ass chick. The balance lies in making yourself as happy as possible by not stressing yourself out or being too hard on yourself.

What’s the biggest challenge you face when it comes to balancing your life? 

My problem has always been guilt. When working, I will beat myself up for not being with my daughter. I’ll never forgive myself for taking five weeks maternity leave because I feared losing my job – it happened anyway and I regret that decision. I’m making up for it now. Sometimes our careers make it hard to focus on other parts of your life that are way more important. Family comes first, period. It took me a long time to realize that. Even though sometimes my family bugs the #hit out of me.

What tips can you offer other women who are all striving to keep the balance in their lives?

Best advice is just this – we all do our very best with what we are handed. Don’t ever feel like a bad mom if you have to make the choice to work extra hard for a trip or a better upbringing for your kids. As long as they feel loved, they will know why you sometimes couldn’t be there. Also, don’t forget yourself, if you are happy, your kids will be happy.

Who do you turn to when you feel that you’re going to lose balance? 

My girlfriends are amazing. The ones with kids and without. They are brilliant women and I’m in awe of them and their grasp on family and career. Oh and my “Gay-tourage” are always there when I think I’m gonna lose it. Any of them are always willing to help me with anything. The “Guncles” are amazing with her and spoil her rotten, and show her how to put on bronzer.

How do you balance healthy living and a healthy eating routine in your hectic schedule? 

Yikes, eating right is hard! No one warned me that I’d be eating half of her (my 2-and-half-year-old) meals that are left over. My tip is, order the chicken fingers and fries for your kid – the calories don’t count when you are eating off someone else’s plate. Plus, they look like the pig.

With all the demands you have pulling at you between work and home, how do you schedule time for yourself to either curl up on the couch with a good book or movie, go to the spa for a much deserved facial or massage, or to forget the day’s stresses by indulging in hot bath? 

Always fit fun into your life. The more fun you have, the better you feel and the more your kids have an open spirit and attitude. Dance parties are regular in my kitchen. To escape – dinner with friends or a nice glass (or bottle) of wine will do. Oh and a good book, which reminds me, 50 Shades of Grey is waiting on my bed for me.

Follow Billie on Twitter @billietoronto.

