Cheryl Hickey, host of ET Canada. Photo by Sandy Caetano.

In an exclusive presentation at Toronto’s Trump International Hotel, Shaw Media announced the details of Global’s impressive 2012- 13 prime-time schedule, which includes a few highly anticipated series including Elementary, Vegas, Last Resort, Chicago Fire and Go On.

“We’re really proud of the dramas we’ve picked up this year – I can’t wait to see how they unfold,” said Paul Robertson, President of Shaw Media. “It’s our year of spectacular.”

The big announcement this year was Shaw will be launching the first-ever Canadian edition of Big Brother, co-produced by Insight Productions. The show will air on Slice in 2013. The format of Big Brother Canada will be similar to the U.S. edition, with one difference: viewers will be allowed to interact with the show and impact decisions made in the house.

The Ricki Lake Show, a daytime series that explores topics that interest the modern-day woman, will also hit the Global schedule. “I felt that there wasn’t a show for moms like me out there,” Lake said. “Oprah was going away and there was room and an opportunity, so I’m thrilled. I’m really touched and humbled at the fact that people want to see that – want to see where I’m at in my life, and want to go on this journey with me.”

LL Cool J also made an appearance, discussing his role in NCIS: Los Angeles, which will return to Global for its fourth season.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

