Which one do I choose? The 2012 Honda CR-V Touring or the 2012 Honda Ridgeline Sport? Photo by Nelson Caetano.

You remember it don’t you? The Tonka Truck every child loved and wanted to play with? As a girl who’s always loved rides in her dad’s pick-up trucks, I now get to play with my own Tonka Truck!

Ok, well, it’s not mine to keep, but I do have it for a whole week, maybe longer if I ask Honda Canada nicely. Though I’d really like to keep this one. Please, may I borrow it a little longer? Can I? Can I? Can I? So maybe begging isn’t lady like, but once you get behind the wheel of the 2012 Honda Ridgeline Sport, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about.

Yeah, sure, the Acura was a whole lot of fun, the Honda CR-V was fabulous for family getaways, but this bad boy? Ha! Where do I begin? As soon as my hubby and I, and the kids pulled up next to the Ridgeline we were all in awe.

It’s not as long as your typical pickup truck, and fits perfectly into a parking spot in any grocery store or shopping centre. (I was worried I wouldn’t be able to park this guy anywhere, guess again!)

The Ridgeline is a four-door pickup with a secret hidden trunk in the cargo bed! It’s perfect for groceries, your everyday kids bags and cargo, and from some of the reviews I’ve read on this vehicle, you can even use it as an ice chest! Now how cool is that?

And with all the cargo in its secret compartment, there’s tons of space for mountain bikes in the flatbed, camping gear, you name it, it will fit. The backseats also shift upwards, allowing for more storage space in the back.

The Honda Ridgeline aims to please with plenty of storage cubbies, and like the CR-V, there are cup holders everywhere, perfect for zippy cups – if you’ve got a kid, you’ll know where I’m coming from. The back seat is very, very roomy, and perfect for two booster seats and a third person to sit in the middle quite comfortably.

The Honda Ridgeline is a powerful vehicle with a 250-horsepower V6 mated to a five-speed automatic – wow, what a mouthful. In other words, when this truck hits the highway, it just wants to go. As soon as you give it a little bit of gas, you can feel the power of the Ridgeline. Though it’s purr is quiet, don’t misjudge the type of performance this pickup will give you especially on the open highway.

It’s effortless to control with sturdy handling, and the all-wheel drive also makes the world of difference. It’s big and rugged, it’s mighty and powerful, it’s sleek and stylish – it’s perfectly suited for your many needs and an ideal road-trip vehicle.

Our delicious pizza at Ciao Roma in Vaughan.

Once we finished checking it out and moving all of our stuff over from the CR-V, we were off to spend some family time together. And by 1pm, it was time for lunch. We headed over to Ciao Roma in Vaughan, one of our favourite places to go for the most delicious Roman Pizza.

When I first checked out Ciao Roma, I was writing business reviews for Top Choice Magazine. After making friendly with the owners, I tried some of their one-of-a-kind specialty square pizzas. Each bite will take you back to Italy, where this Roman pizza originated. They take pride in each pizza and treat it like a piece of artwork, the only difference is that this art is edible and scrumptious to the very last bite.

Ciao Roma’s pizza is served by the weight, so you can sample a piece of as many varieties as you wish. Saturday, my boys had the opportunity to try one of Ciao Roma’s latest creations – pizza with tomato sauce, mashed potato, ricotta cheese, parmesan cheese and mozzarella. It was mouth-watering.

My pizza was topped with tomato sauce, mashed potato, prosciutto cotto and mozzarella cheese – what a combination of ingredients. Really, who would have thought that mashed potatoes would taste so yummy on a pizza? My hubby had a variety of mushrooms on his pizza, which left him very satisfied.

2012 Honda Ridgeline Sport

And if that wasn’t all, there was another pizza that caught our eye, one that definitely screams Italian cuisine – the toppings on this pizza included cantaloupe and prosciutto crudo. Is there anything you can’t put on pizza?

Before heading back home, we stepped in next door at The Big Cannoli for a couple of espressos and Sicilian cannolis. After dessert, I dropped off my hubby and older son down at the Toronto FC soccer game, where they finally won their first game of the season, and headed home for some much needed relaxing with my little guy.

It’s amazing how things change from vehicle to vehicle, the looks and stares I got while driving the Ridgeline Saturday was interesting. I had no idea whether they were checking out the truck because it’s cool, or because they were surprised to see a woman behind the wheel – either way the attention was fun. Whatever the reason, I must say my first day with the Ridgeline was an incredible one.

