Carley Tietolman, Consultant for LexPR Canada

What’s your secret to keeping the balance between your career and the rest of your life?

Funny enough, I don’t know that there is a secret to balancing both. For me, I made the decision early on in my career to decide what my priorities were and then went from there. I am fortunate enough to be surrounded by a supportive husband, family and friends who recognize what the demands are of the work that I do, and who understand what it takes to be successful in both career and in life.

What’s the biggest challenge you face when it comes to balancing your life?

It is hard not to get immersed in work that you are passionate about and not have your whole life be about it. I think that this will always be a challenge, but it is all in how you deal and work with it.

What tips can you offer other women who are all striving to keep the balance in their lives?


Don’t be afraid to make time for yourself. Often times, many women are trying to balance it all and forget about the most important person – herself.

How do you balance healthy living and a healthy eating routine in your hectic schedule? 

To be honest, this one is a work in progress. I am not one with the gym, but certainly try to get out for walks at least once a day – even if it is just walking the dog for 30 minutes (this also helps clear your head of life’s stresses). I also cannot say that I have a “healthy” eating routine either, but I can say that I try really hard to never miss a meal. I try to eat something (even a small snack), especially when I am on the go. It is really important to stay energized.

What’s your guilty pleasure or secret luxury, something that is yours that you use as an escape?

La belle province has been a great escape for me. Having been born and raised in Montreal, where my family and closest friends still reside, I can never seem to get enough of the city. Although the visits can be short at times, I always feel recharged when I return. Not to mention, shopping in Montreal has always been a guilty pleasure.

With all the demands you have pulling at you between work and home, how do you schedule time for yourself to either curl up on the couch with a good book or movie, go to the spa for a much deserved facial or massage, or to forget the day’s stresses by indulging in hot bath? 

There are always going to be priorities and deadlines at work. However, in the grand scheme of things (or at the end of the day) I could not be successful at what I do if I did not pencil myself in as one of those priorities.

Follow Carley on Twitter @CarleyTietolman
www.lexpr.com

