Laura Stratton, President of Strattco PR

What’s your secret to keeping the balance between your career and the rest of your life?

Really it’s all about taking on clients that I love to work for that makes it feel less like work and more like fun. Both my kids are in daycare or school during the day so I work hard when they are away so I can “play” when they are home and be focused on them and everything else that makes life worth living like great friends, family, fitness and good food.

What’s the biggest challenge you face when it comes to balancing your life?

My husband works night shifts so I am often juggling schedules.  I find it important to spend time together as a family when he is off which might mean doing things as a family during the day instead of the evenings sometimes and then working at night after the kids are in bed. Really if this is the only challenge I can come up with I think life is pretty good!

What tips can you offer other women who are all striving to keep the balance in their lives?

It’s all about making what’s important a top priority. The gym and eating healthy are two top priorities on my list. That means that even if I don’t have time or don’t feel like it I always make time to make good meals or hit the gym 4-5 times a week. I keep telling myself it’s only 1 hour out of 24 so make it count!

What kind of pressure do you feel as a woman in today’s day in age with having to juggle professional pressures and domestic challenges? 

I think pressures have really changed over the years where at one point women use to take care of the kids, put the meals on the table, do all the home cleaning…now a days (or at least I hope!) domestic chores and responsibilities are shared equally by both partners which lessens the pressure on just one partner (well, this is true in my case at least! – god bless a wonderful husband!).

What’s your guilty pleasure or secret luxury, something that is yours that you use as an escape?

I absolutely love Zumba. I go 3-4 times a week and it’s an outlet where you can dance to your heart’s content and just forget everything but the music. My gym is only 2 minutes away from home and they have about 7 class options per week so it’s pretty easy to find a class that fits into my schedule.

Who do you turn to when you feel that you’re going to lose balance? 

Typically my husband who knows how stressed and overwhelmed I can get and he reminds me that I am not the president of the United States and not that busy. He also often suggests that I hire people to help me in my business and delegate more so that it takes the pressure off me (good advise that I try to follow!).

Follow Laura on Twitter @LauraStratton

