Ali de Bold, Co-founder of ChickAdvisor Inc, and her son.

What kind of pressure do you feel as a woman in today’s day in age with having to juggle professional pressures and domestic challenges?

I feel a lot of pressure, actually. Part of that comes from the fact that I’m a type A personality. I need a clean house, I need to do a great job with my career, and ultimately I need to feel fulfilled that I am accomplishing something. But I think a lot of the pressure I feel comes from myself and not wanting to miss out or disappoint anyone. I think it’s important to ask for help, whether that’s swapping babysitting with friends or having someone come in to clean the house a few times a month.

What’s your secret to keeping the balance between your career and the rest of your life?

I haven’t figured this out yet. I try to get as much done as possible while my baby naps and then once he’s awake I make sure we spend a lot of time playing together and taking walks. I think I have a lot to learn when it comes to figuring out the right balance!

What tips can you offer other women who are all striving to keep the balance in their lives?

I think if you have a good support network of friends and family who can help you out, that is key. I don’t have family living in town so that makes it harder if I need to go to a meeting or something. People don’t always understand when you say you’re not available for something, but I think at the end of the day you need to put your family first and do the best you can with your career. Also, don’t have unreasonable expectations of yourself. The most important job in the world is raising your children.

How do you balance healthy living and a healthy eating routine in your hectic schedule?

I try not to buy anything I’d regret eating. If there is junk in the house, I’m going to eat it. So, I don’t buy it. I have a lot of healthy options to choose from. Also, I’m very serious about exercise. I workout once a week with a trainer with a group of friends who also have babies, I walk at least an hour a day with my son in the stroller and I still exercise with the trainer I had before I got pregnant. I feel so much better about life in general when I exercise.

Who do you turn to when you feel that you’re going to lose balance?

I have an amazing family and friends. My siblings all have kids and in fact my big sister, Claire works for me and she has three kids. She’s an amazing multitasker.

With all the demands you have pulling at you between work and home, how do you schedule time for yourself to either curl up on the couch with a good book or movie, go to the spa for a much deserved facial or massage, or to forget the day’s stresses by indulging in hot bath?

I haven’t been to the spa since my baby was born, though I’m hoping to soon! I do take time to have a hot bath, almost every night. I find it incredibly relaxing. Once my son is in bed, I like to have a glass of wine and zone out in the tub for a bit. My husband is really supportive of my “me” time and I’m lucky to have him!

For more information about Ali and ChickAdvisor Inc., visit

www.chickadvisor.com

