Erin Nadler, Better Styled Inc.

What’s your secret to keeping the balance between your career and the rest of your life?

I don’t think there really is a secret. Why what have you heard? I always ask my clients how they keep the balance and no one seems to have the same answer. For me, it was trial and error to find balance and to take note of what works for me, as well as, those around me. I am really lucky because I have the most supportive friends and family who understand the demands of owning and managing a business, but still keep me grounded.

What’s the biggest challenge you face when it comes to balancing your life?

How much time do you have? In all seriousness, it’s really easy to get sucked into your business and have your whole life be about it, especially in the beginning. No one starts something with the intention of failing and so most of your time and effort is devoted to your career. I continue to struggle with the balance of having a life and a business, and trying to keep the two separate. It’s an ongoing process. I’ll let you know if I ever figure it out.

What tips can you offer other women who are all striving to keep the balance in their lives?

1) Delegate – You can’t do it all. Every time I take on another new project or add something to my schedule I remind myself that I am only one person.

2) Don’t be afraid to say no – So many women have a problem saying no to new projects, people, etc., but it is a necessity. Sometimes you need to put yourself and your needs first.

What kind of pressure do you feel as a woman in today’s day in age with having to juggle professional pressures and domestic challenges? 

I think the pressures are different for each and every woman. No one wants to be a success in the office but a failure at home or vice versa. You determine what you want from your life and what is acceptable for you.

How do you balance healthy living and a healthy eating routine in your hectic schedule? 

Not an easy task. Again scheduling a work out makes it easier to actually get to the gym. Keeping a low-fat granola bar in my purse, or some almonds and drinking a lot of water keeps my hunger under control until I can stop and make wise food decisions. Some of the worst choices are made when you’re starving, so don’t let yourself get to that point.

What’s your guilty pleasure or secret luxury, something that is yours that you use as an escape?

Well, I’m in fashion so it’s probably what you would expect, shoes! But you won’t see 100 pairs in my closet. I prefer fewer better quality shoes and I love pumps, even though I can’t work in them. A stunning pair of shoes instantly makes me happy, they always fit, and can change the look of an outfit in a second. Other than shoes, my happy place is New York City.  Even with the hustle and bustle of the city, I always come home rejuvenated, well fed, and full of ideas.

 

For more information about Erin and Better Styled Inc., visit

www.betterstyled.com

